Facilitating Peer Feedback on Essays

Facilitating Peer Feedback on Essays

Some teachers struggle with setting up Peer Feedback, especially getting learners used to and comfortable with giving and recieving feedback on their work from their peers! Research has looked into how teachers can increase students receptivity to peer review, and what kind of training and guidance can help to make it effective. 

Based on these insights, I designed these guidance worksheets and tested them with my C1-level, MA students on EAP programmes – the worksheets guide students to review a peer’s drafts of parts of a general academic essay and are easily adaptable or useable at other levels – exactly how to employ them in your context is up to you!

Peer Feedback Worksheet: For Introduction / Essay Outline: peer review introduction outline

Peer Feedback Worksheet: For Body Paragraph(s): peer review body paragraphs

Peer Feedback Worksheet: For Conclusion: peer review conclusion

7 thoughts on “Facilitating Peer Feedback on Essays

  1. This is great, Clare! I was just thinking of giving an assignment like this to my 201 students. I have two questions about this! 1. Did you have students submit this assignment into you as well, and were you impressed with the results? 2. I’m really interested in knowing how much commentary students gave, especially seeing that the comment box isn’t that big! Thank you!

    Like

    1. 1. Yes, I asked them to submit a small folder with all the drafts and the feedback sheets, as well as their final essay. And yes, I think they gave each other good feedback and were able to use it well. Note, though, that if it’s the first time they’ve ever done peer review, they might need some training.
      2. For the undergrad classes the boxes are usually big enough. In the postgrad classes I let them use the boxes to write notes, and then talk about it in person with whoever’s essay they reviewed.
      Thanks for your comment & Qs! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea. One thing I’m always kicking myself for is not getting peer correction to work. I usually give up pretty quickly every time I try. But I’ve had this idea of creating checklists in my head for a few days now and I see you’ve already developed a great tool of your own. I like the idea and I’m going to have to adapt it for my (mostly FCE/CAE-type) groups.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think students need support for peer review to work well. Without scaffolding it is unlikely to be effective. Check lists are one form I’ve found for this support, and as you say, they can be adapted quite easily for different contexts. I think it’s worthwhile spending time helping students develop their abilities in this area – once they’ve grasped it, it can be used over & again to check & improve their work. Glad my sheets have inspired you to give it a go with your students!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment